Category View

 
World TB Day
Sunday 24 March 2019

The theme of this year’s World TB Day is: It's time.


World TB Day is designed to build public awareness that tuberculosis still remains an epidemic in much of the world. It commemorates the day in 1882 when Dr Robert Koch astounded the scientific community by announcing that he had discovered the cause of tuberculosis, the TB bacillus.

Thailand Grand festival (Songkran)
Saturday 13 April 2019 - Monday 15 April 2019
Thai New Year's festival (Songkran) is on the 24th and 25th March at Tumbalong Park, Sydney
World Immunisation Week
Tuesday 23 April 2019 - Monday 29 April 2019
2019 Theme: #VaccinesWork

World Immunization Week – celebrated in the last week of April – aims to promote the use of vaccines to protect people of all ages against disease. Immunization saves millions of lives every year and is widely recognized as one of the world’s most successful and cost-effective health interventions. Yet, there are still nearly 20 million unvaccinated and under-vaccinated children in the world today.

The theme this year is Protected Together: Vaccines Work!, and the campaign will celebrate Vaccine Heroes from around the world – from parents and community members to health workers and innovators – who help ensure we are all protected through the power of vaccines.
World No Tobacco Day
Friday 31 May 2019

World No Tobacco Day is celebrated around the world every year on May 31.

This yearly celebration on "Tobacco and Lung Health" informs the public on the dangers of using tobacco, the business practices of tobacco companies, what health agencies such as the WHO is doing to fight the tobacco epidemic, and what people around the world can do to claim their right to health and healthy living and to protect future generations.


HIV Testing Week
Saturday 01 June 2019
HIV Testing Week (1-7 June) is aimed at increasing awareness of HIV Testing in NSW.
World Refugee Day/Week
Thursday 20 June 2019
World Refugee Day is dedicated to raising awareness of the situation of refugees throughout the world.

Refugee
Week (Sunday 17 June to Saturday 23 June) is Australia’s peak annual activity to inform the public about refugees and celebrate positive contributions made by refugees to Australian society.
World Hepatitis Day
Sunday 28 July 2019 - Monday 28 October 2019
2019 Australasian Sexual Health Conference joint with 2019 Australasian HIV&AIDS Conference
Monday 16 September 2019 - Thursday 19 September 2019

2019 Australasian Sexual Health Conference joint with 2019 Australasian HIV&AIDS Conference
16 – 19 September 2019
Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre
World Mental Health Day /Month
Thursday 10 October 2019
World Mental Health Day – 10 October – is a day for global mental health education, awareness and advocacy. An initiative of the World Federation for Mental Health to raise public awareness of mental health issues worldwide.

October is Mental Health Month in NSW. Across the State join people and events that raise awareness and promote better mental health throughout the community.


World Aids Day
Sunday 01 December 2019